MacWorld 2009: The Ultimate Borefest (Rant)

07Jan09

After this week’s MacWorld Expo, Apple will no longer participate in the annual conference. This is sad considering I always wanted to attend a Steve Jobs Keynote (which is on my list of Things to Do Before I Die– list to be posted soon). Nonetheless I’m really bummed out. While I assumed this last Keynote was going to be pretty anti-climatic, since Steve Jobs wasn’t presenting, I had no idea how much of a BORE-FEST it truly was going to be. I want my hour back!!! If it wasn’t for Macrumors getting hacked during the Keynote, I would have died with boredom.

Dear Apple, please don’t talk about iPhoto, iMovie, and iBlah Blah Blah for a whole hour, thats just lame. Not to mention it’s been a FULL YEAR since you last updated the MacPro towers. A new MacPro announcement seemed like a no brainer. They say technology is outdated once you buy it, so how much more outdated are your current YEAR OLD MacPros? I still have a G4 tower thats about to die, so I need a new computer bad. I know all the cool iPhone toting college kids want laptops but PLEASE don’t forget your Power Users. We are the ones who carried you back in the day before you were cool and trendy with your dancing silhouette commercials. I’m tired of waiting for Power User updates!!! Thanks. –Dirk

Enough of my rant. The only cool thing I think worth mentioning from MacWorld is that Apple is dropping DRM from all of their iTunes music and they are moving to a variable pricing format. I will probably still visit the cheaper Amazon MP3 Store, but I really like the convenience of previewing and searching for music right within iTunes.

Oh and I’m really looking forward to this promising iPhone App: SlingPlayer for iPhone

UPDATE: I found the video on YouTube of the newly released Macbook Clickwheel.


3 Responses to “MacWorld 2009: The Ultimate Borefest (Rant)”

  1. 1 bradormonde

    i agree 100% with everything you said, and about the iTunes “DRM FREE”, it’s a shame that we have to pay for it to upgrade, but i think i’ll stick to amazon as well. We’ll see as time goes by.

  2. 2 Jon

    I like the video, that was pretty funny.

  3. 3 adamohhh

    I want that SlingPlayer Dirk! Holy moly. How cool would that be?


Leave a Reply

