OBAMA: Where He Stands

19Nov08

 

3041189685_b9c1c4df37_o1

Eight months ago if you asked me whether not I thought Obama was a Muslim I would have said I don’t know. To be honest I didn’t fully know. But since then it has become quite clear to me that Obama is not a Muslim, contrary to what many people still think. I am still running into people that think he is a Muslim and that is one of their reasons for not liking him. Regardless of whether you like Obama or not I think its fair to set the record straight and lets hear it straight from his own mouth. My friend Tim showed me this transcript from an interview where he discusses his faith. Its interesting to say the least on where he stands on all sorts of issues. If you’re short on time read at least the first few paragraphs.

Some highlights:

– “I am a Christian. So, I have a deep faith. So I draw from the Christian faith.”

– “My father was from Kenya, and although he was probably most accurately labeled an agnostic, his father was Muslim. And I’d say, probably, intellectually I’ve drawn as much from Judaism as any other faith.”

– “So, I’m rooted in the Christian tradition. I believe that there are many paths to the same place, and that is a belief that there is a higher power, a belief that we are connected as a people.”

– “Jesus is an historical figure for me, and he’s also a bridge between God and man, in the Christian faith, and one that I think is powerful precisely because he serves as that means of us reaching something higher.”

– “Well, my pastor [Jeremiah Wright] is certainly someone who I have an enormous amount of respect for.”

– “I find it hard to believe that my God would consign four-fifths of the world to hell. I can’t imagine that my God would allow some little Hindu kid in India who never interacts with the Christian faith to somehow burn for all eternity.”

No Responses Yet to “OBAMA: Where He Stands”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

